Featured image on this post is Artwork by Endre Ballough

Our Energy Body and the Chakras

Chakra is a Sanskrit word that means “wheel”. In our energy body we have seven “wheels of energy” and 72,000 nadis, or channels of energy (also known as meridians), and 108 marma points, or junctures where energy points meet nerve endings, also explained as points where consciousness meets matter.

We have 7 main Chakras in our physical body and many other smaller ones. Often they are visualized as a ball—it is more accurate to vizualize them as a vortex. The root chakra is like a vortex that spinds downward through our legs. The crown chakra spirals upward, and the five chakras between spin out the front and back of our body.

Each of our chakras is very near one of our major endocrine glands. They are a part of our energy body but the do align with our more dense physical body.

Regarding the nadis, or channels of energy is beautifully illustrated by the beautiful artwork by Alex Gray in his famous Sacred Mirrors.

The First Chakra: The Root Chakra, the Muladahara Chakra, is located at the base of the spine just above the anal opening. This energy center is associated with our basic survival needs.

Its color is deep red; the seed sound (Bija) that resonates with this chakra is “LAM”.

Corresponds with the Element:  EARTH

Aligned with the Lymph Glands (neck, under the arms, in the groin, inside the chest & inside the abdomen & pelvis)

The Law of Karma governs this chakra: Try these activating intentions: Witness your choices; Consider the consequences of each of your choices & listen to your heart for messages of comfort & discomfort.

“Om Kriyam Namah” –  My actions are aligned with karmic law.

The Second Chakra, the Swadhisthana Chakra, is located just a few inches below the navel in the area of the sex organs, or in the hip area of the body. This is where our creative and sexual energy reside. This energy center is associated with our basic biological needs and we can use this force to intentionally create happiness and success in our lives.

Its color is orange, and the sound that resonates with this chakra is “VAM”.

Corresponds with the Element: WATER.

Aligned with the Gonad, Overies & Testes (male/female reproduction)

The Law of Least Effort is lively in this chakra. Try these intentions: Practice acceptance, Accept responsibility; Establish your awareness in defenslessness (no need to be right or wrong).

“Om Daksham Namah” – My Actions achieve maximum benefit with minimal Effort.

The Third Chakra, the Manipura Chakra, is our power center, and it is located in the area of the solar plexus, just below the sternum.  It is where we manifest our intentions and desires. 

Its color is yellow, and the sound that resonates with this chakra is “RAM”.

Element: FIRE

Aligned with the Adrenal Glands (top of kidney) & Pancreas (behind stomach, in front of spine)

The Law of Intention & Desire governs this chakra. Try these activating intentions: Be clear of what your intentions are; Trust & surrender the outcome to Nature; Practice present moment awareness.

“Om Ritam Namah” –  My intentions & desire are supported by cosmic intelligence.

The Fourth Chakra, the Anahata Chakra, is our heart chakra.  It is located in the center of our chest at about the level of our armpits, our center of love and compassion. This center is associated with our compassion and love for those in our life. When energy is freely flowing in this area, our relationships express our open-hearted connectedness with the whole of creation.

It’s color is a brilliant green, described by some as turquoise, and the sound that resonates with this chakra is “YAM”.

Element: AIR

Thymus Gland (center of chest, behind the sternum)

The Law of Giving & Receiving governs the heart chakra. Try activating this law with the following intentions: Practice breath awareness; Cultivate an attitude of gratitude; Acknowledge your needs & the needs of your body and surrender to those needs.

“Om Vardhanam Namah”: I am the nourisher of the Universe and the Universe nourishes me.

The Fifth Chakra, the Vishudda Chakra, is where our expression resides and is located in the center of our throat. When we enliven this center, we are able to express unique communicate and express our talents and desires.

Its color is light blue, and the sound that resonates with this chakra is “HUM”.

Element: AKASHA or ether

Aligned with the Thyroid Gland in the neck.

The Law of Detachment governs the throat chakra. To activate, try this: Practice detatchment & go with flexibility; Embrace uncertainty; Surrender to the field of pur potentiality.

“Om Anandham Namah”: My actions are blissfully free from attachment to outcome.

The Sixth Chakra, the Ajna Chakra, also known as “the third eye” chakra, is where our insight & intuition reside. It is located between and just slightly above our eyes. This is the center of our insight and intuition. 

Its color is a deep indigo blue, and the sound that resonates with this chakra is “SHAM”.


Element:  Super ether

Aligned with the Pituitary Gland in the brain.

The Law of Dharma (or Purpose in Life) governs this chakra. Try these activating intentions: Attend to your Silent Witness within & nurture yourself; Acknowledge your talents to become aware of your unique purpose in life; Serve others; Ask, “How can I help.”

“Om Varunam Namah” – My life is in harmony with cosmic law.

The Seventh Chakra, the Sahasrara Chakra, or thousand-petaled lotus, is our crown chakra.  It is located at the top of our head in the area of the fontanel. Known also as the, consciousness chakra, the Sahaswara chakra is visualized as a lotus flower at the crown of the head. When the lotus unfolds its petals, the memory of wholeness is restored. This center represents the connection between our individual and universal aspects. When energy is moving through this chakra without restriction, we never lose awareness of our spiritual nature even as we move through our physical experiences in this time bound world. 

Its color is violet, and the sound that resonates with this chakra is “OM”; others tell us that the sound of this chakra is pure silence.

Element: super ether

Pineal Gland in the center of the brain.

The Law of Pure Potentiality governs the seventh chakra. Try these activating intentions: Cultivate stillness in your body-mind; Commune with nature; Shift into witnessing mode; Practice non-judgement.

“Om Bavahm Namah” – I am absolute existence.

Let's Stay in Touch

You'll get Inspiration & Motivation, Mind-Body Holistic Wellness Resources, Tips, Recipes and more!

Just one more step. Please go to your email In-Box and confirm your subscription!

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This

Share this post with your friends!